Opinion: my rant for the quarter

20 Dec

My rant for the last quarter of the 2015 year.

 

Religion and politics: the two subjects you don’t bring up at the dinner table. So here we are, at the precipice of the 2016 Presidential campaign without — in my estimation — a person that is a leader, a fence-mender, a visionary, and someone I will respect as my president. Not any of the political factions encompasses my values to the point I want to give them my vote. Once again, it becomes a “hold your nose and vote” situation, with extremists on any of the multiple political sides screaming loud warnings in my wax-protected ears. No reason to clean the wax out, I say.

Dwight_D._Eisenhower,_official_photo_portrait,_May_29,_1959Did you know that Dwight D. Eisenhower was recruited by the Republicans and Democrats to run for his first term in office? Did you know some of the things he is quoted as saying sound very liberal to me? And I’m okay with those quotes, by the way. And did you know the Republican Party basically snubbed his political leadership party-wise?

Is he to be the last vestige of someone who can rally the nation?

But, it was a simpler time, you say. Right. For some. But not black Americans. Not women. Complications (the USSR, for example) were visible to the wary. Nothing is ever as simple as we remember it to be.

I wonder if the geneticists are probing human DNA in hopes of discovering the perfect leader?

Remember chaos theory? The proposition espoused by the character Jeff Goldblum portrayed in the first “Jurassic Park” movie? You might also know it as entropy, which Mirriam-Webster defines (though not the first definition) as “a process of degradation or running down or a trend to disorder.”

Is that our destination? Are the zombies just around the corner? Are we about to hear the loud shout in the air? I’m not positive either way. Or about any of the candidates.

I just want the Panthers to beat the Giants today.

9 Responses to “Opinion: my rant for the quarter”

  1. keithosaunders December 20, 2015 at 1:30 pm #

    The like is for your political rant, not your NFL rooting interest. Go Jints!

    • skipmars December 20, 2015 at 1:33 pm #

      Jints? I know. This will be a real test for my boys.

      • keithosaunders December 20, 2015 at 2:12 pm #

        More of a test for the Giants — they aren’t that good.

      • skipmars December 20, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

        It’s all relative.

  2. claragbush29 December 20, 2015 at 7:43 pm #

    Well done and thought-provoking. Way to go Skip!

    • skipmars December 20, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks, Clara. Plus, the Panthers won! barely.

  3. ♥ love powered ♥ December 22, 2015 at 11:45 pm #

    awesome way to end the post ^^

    • skipmars December 23, 2015 at 12:01 am #

      Awesome way for the Panthers to end the game. Look for “The Protectorate” in early 2016 on my blog. Trust me, it will relate.

Leave a Reply

