Ray Ferrer: 5.20.15

11 Jun

Ray

 

I was saddened today to learn of the death of Ray Ferrer, who illustrated my first book, Through the Glass Darkly. I discovered Ray because he discovered me on WordPress. His style of art fit uniquely with my stories, and he and I talked over the phone on several occasions. He was exceedingly generous with his charges to me for his work.

Ray and his wife, Rhian, moved to California from the New York area within the past couple of years, and it looked like his career was catching fire.

In January of this year he suffered a stroke, and a brain tumor was discovered. He succumbed to that condition last month. I was unaware of it.

You can see his Facebook page under Ray Ferrer, and I encourage you to click on the FundMe link, as I have no doubt Rhian has many expenses due to his hospitalization and treatment.

I’m going to republish Through the Glass Darkly in the next couple of months on Amazon. As it has several new stories, I was hopeful Ray would illustrate them for me. That will not happen. My heart goes out to Rhian and Ray’s family and friends. His is a great loss.

 

Ray Ferrer's cover illustration for Through the Glass Darkly

Ray Ferrer’s cover illustration for Through the Glass Darkly

 

Art by Ray Ferrer

Art by Ray Ferrer

 

Illustration by Ray Ferrer

Illustration by Ray Ferrer

 

Illustration by Ray Ferrer

Illustration by Ray Ferrer

 

Illustrated by Ray Ferrer

Illustrated by Ray Ferrer

 

Illustrated by Ray Ferrer

Illustrated by Ray Ferrer

One Response to “Ray Ferrer: 5.20.15”

  1. Outlier Babe June 13, 2015 at 5:06 pm #

    How sad. I have a friend who is one of those rare things: A brain cancer survivor. I follow the science abstracts on the research, and so much is being learned in dramatic leaps right now. Deaths in these years seem particularly hard because it feels likely to me that very effective treatments to reach and slow or stop even the most aggressive brain cancers, without the toxic effects of today’s approaches, will be available within 2-3 years.

    I’m sorry you for your loss, Skip. He was very talented. His pieces are beautiful and powerful.

Leave a Reply

