You never got it, I never saw it

15 Apr

You never got it, I never saw it

By L. Stewart Marsden

 

You never got it,

You never saw it,

Your eyes were focused somewhere else

On something you thought was what you wanted;

Perhaps it was

What you wanted

And was not what was given.

 

I missed it,

Didn’t get it,

Thought that what I gave was the best

And found out it was far from

What you were looking for,

Something more

Something different . . .

I totally misread it.

 

My best wishes to you

That whatever it is

And however it fills

You will find  . . .  whatever it is

That will occupy space — the void that you have

And you will come to rest

In the place you desired

Above all else

On the other side of the fence.

 

Copyright © by Lawrence S. Marsden, 15 April, 2015

 

3 Responses to “You never got it, I never saw it”

  1. rennydiokno2015 April 15, 2015 at 12:40 am #

    Reblogged this on My Bloggerdiok.

  2. rennydiokno2015 April 15, 2015 at 12:45 am #

    Reblogged this on rennydiokno.com.

  3. frederick anderson April 15, 2015 at 4:14 am #

    I like this very much. It seems to express a sentiment we all catch up on, when we reconcile ourselves to a parting of the ways, and we have given up asking ourselves the unanswerable question ‘why’?

Leave a Reply

