When I was a kid …

17 Mar

When I was a kid …

By L. Stewart Marsden

 

When I was a kid …

We played in the creeks

Where we hunted for tadpoles, and crayfish and more,

And splashed all about in our skinny bare feet;

 

When I was a kid …

We’d ride miles on our bikes

From dawn until dusk, all over the town

And we rode whenever and wherever we liked;

 

When I was a kid …

Tall trees were the best

For climbing and building our tree houses and clubs

And eat peanut butter crackers at the top in our nests;

 

When I was a kid …

We drank from the hoses

Played “King of the Hill” on the steepest of yards

And caught fireflies blinking at night near the roses;

 

When I was a kid …

We played roll-a-bat

Or Red Rover, Red Rover, or Capture the Flag

And our moms would all holler to see where we’re at;

 

When I was a kid …

On Saturday morning we went to the movies

To catch up on Buck Rogers — get scared by Lon Chaney

In Wolfman and DraculaReturn of the Mummy;

 

When I was a kid …

We’d lay flat and look up,

Imagine the clouds were a barnyard of hens

Or a horse or a cow or a quarrelsome duck;

 

When I was a kid …

Oh, when I was a kid …

The games that we played

And the things that we did …

Are gone now forever and never will be;

How I wish you could live just one single day

When you played and you did all those things

Just like me.

 

Copyright © by Lawrence S. Marsden, 17 March, 2015
6 Responses to “When I was a kid …”

  1. Outlier Babe April 9, 2015 at 9:24 pm #

    I don’t know your age, Skip–guessing from seeing Buck Rogers in the theatre, a bit older than I–but my childhood was veyr similar. I tried to do the same for my boys, here in the heart of L.A., and failed (we were living in the most dangerous neighborhood in the city). But I did take them to the many parks here and let them have their heads in those places.

    So unnatural, that lack of freedom for children. The Korean-American children in Koreatown are quite independent, going all over at young ages, and no one questions it. Why are no police harrassing parents there, I wonder, regarding the long-established and perfectly-healthy “free-range” practices of that culture?

    • skipmars April 9, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

      You should research and blog about it.

      • Outlier Babe April 9, 2015 at 9:40 pm #

        A great idea! But you have me confused with someone who does actual work for her posts. (OTH, this is an interesting issue. Maybe I’ll put a bug in the ear of the free-range movement leader..who would have a discrimination case–’cause it’s not like the powers-that-be are unaware of the independence of upper-income kids, Asian and otherwise.)

      • skipmars April 9, 2015 at 9:43 pm #

        No. I’m not the confused one…

      • Outlier Babe April 9, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

        I think that was a compliment–thank you!

      • skipmars April 9, 2015 at 10:52 pm #

        It was.

Leave a Reply

