Update:

15 Sep

Writing updates:

1. I’m re-editing my short-story collection, Through the Glass Darkly, and will add new stories and delete others. As with the 1st edition, this 2nd edition will be available on Amazon.com under my writing name, L. Stewart Marsden;

2. The Last Stand, a two-act drama based on Guy de Maupassant’s short story, Boule de Suif, and reset to December, 1864 in Savannah, Ga., is being read and reviewed by several (thanks, Clara, et. al.). Once back in with all suggestions, I’ll edit, rewrite, and format for submission in many directions.

3. Illustrations for Stinky and the Night Mare are undergoing final revisions and tweaking. The release for my first children’s story is still scheduled for sometime in October. It is written for young children (ages 4 – 6 or 7). I am very excited about the project, and have begun other Stinky stories. Thinking about producing an audio/video disc for distribution as well.

4. Another writer and I have launched a local writers’ group. One has not existed here for several years, and it’s a pain to drive lots of miles for critiques. We’re exploring what may be a different way of submitting and evaluating work. If you’d like to peek at our website, go to http://www.hickorywritersgroup.com.

5. Came back from a few days in the mountains where I hosted a military family. Actually, they are no longer in the military. The father of the family lost a leg in Afghanistan, and is giving me much-needed help for background for a young adult novel I put on the shelf a couple of years ago.

6. Gathering background for an eerie work (short story or novella) that combines the mountains of North Carolina, a banished Scottish clan, and the Cherokee for what I hope will be a spine-tingler.

7. Longing to get back to The Huguenots, but the stuff above needs resolution first. I think I juggle too many balls at once, and everything suffers.

8. And then there’s the poetry . . . still dreaming of a compilation of work.

Hope all of your writing efforts are progressing, and that you are reaching your objectives.

 

— SM

4 Responses to “Update:”

  1. Clara Bush September 16, 2014 at 1:12 pm #

    You are welcome, Skip. I loved reading “The Last Stand.” It is excellent. I also enjoyed your post. You have lots of projects. Best of luck. Check out Hugh Howey’s website.
    http://www.hughhowey.com
    He has a progress meter for all his projects. He is also a successful self-published author. I am thinking about putting up a progress meter on my website. http://www.clarabush.com
    Keep up the great work.

    • skipmars September 16, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

      Thanks! Ever think of collaborating on a book?

    • skipmars September 16, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

      He definitely pumps them out! Is the progress meter his own app, or where would I get it?

      • Clara Bush September 16, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

        I don’t know where Howey found it. I asked my web guy to do one for me. I’ll try to find out from him. I think the progress meter lets our readers know that more of our works are on the way.

        Collaboration. Maybe, in the future. I am like you right now, I have so many projects I need to finish before I start another. But definitely something to consider.

        Thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

