The memory of you

25 May

 

 

 

The memory of you

by L. Stewart Marsden

 

The memory of you is lost;
it’s slipped behind or underneath
where if I looked I would not see it
huddled in amongst the dust and lint
of ages long gone by.

And why I’d look at all is well beyond my mind,
why I’d try to find a thing that once was sweet
but now will sting and cause much pain to me,
I do not comprehend.

There is no mending of the past,
time indeed heals not all things
else I’d eye the places and the times
where memories lie awaiting,
and anticipate the recreating of a moment
or perhaps of two.

But, the memory of you is lost
and is slipped behind or underneath
where I want not to ever see it
huddled in amongst the dust and lint
of ages long gone by.

 

Copyright © by Lawrence S. Marsden, 25 May, 2014
Leave a Reply

