On the mend

21 May

image

 

On the mend

by L. Stewart Marsden

 

I’m glad to see you’re on the mend,
emerging from your growly den
where you’ve been hold up oh so long.

Would I be wrong in thinking that
the illness you’ve just been through
was actually something caused by you
and not an ugly virus?

Oh, I know those coughy, sniffly times
are mostly caused by germs and stuff,
but sure enough an ache or two
result from things all of us do
to exacerbate our physical selves
like burrowing to a deep dwelling place
and trying to hide and avoiding facing
something cataclysmic in our life —
or so we think it so.

But, regardless, I really am glad to see you back
and in the groove and on the track
as you gain strength and shine again.

You know, I’m feeling not so good myself.
Perhaps it’s spread from you to me
and I’ll to bed to rest and flee this flu
I seem to’ve caught from you.

 

Copyright © by Lawrence S. Marsden, 21 May, 2014
8 Responses to “On the mend”

  1. Book Club Mom May 21, 2014 at 10:33 am #

    Nice!

    • skipmars May 21, 2014 at 10:46 am #

      Anything in particular that you liked about the poem?

      So tell me, what does your book club read? I have a reason to ask.

      • Book Club Mom May 21, 2014 at 11:05 am #

        I liked the suggestion that it’s comforting to be able to escape when you’re just a little bit sick. At least that’s what I got from your poem. I am not a poetry expert!

        We mostly read fiction in our book club. Tonight we are discussing The Caged Graves by Dianne Salerni. It’s a Young Adult book, one of my favorite genres. Thanks for asking.

      • skipmars May 21, 2014 at 11:08 am #

        So, would your group entertain looking at material not yet published, and give input and critical commentary?

      • Book Club Mom May 22, 2014 at 7:07 am #

        I’m not sure. I guess it would depend on the genre and our schedule. We generally select our books 6-9 months in advance. I can ask for you though.

  2. thejerseygal®™ May 21, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

    Very nice. A little rhyme-y, but not overly so, and it lends its way to a nice flow. Oh no! i rhymed! Say it ain’t so! Hehe

    Get well soon! 😃👍

    • skipmars May 21, 2014 at 1:02 pm #

      I’m not sick, but thanks. My DIL came back from eastern Europe feeling Punky Brewster, so it’s on my mind.

Leave a Reply

