Pillow Talk: the reprise

7 May

image

Pillow Talk: the reprise

By L. Stewart Marsden

 

Didja lock the door?

I locked the door.

Because it would be some scene if one of the orderlies were to come in all of a sudden.

I locked the door, already.

What’re you doing?

Well, I’m looking for something.

Something you lost? In your pants you lost something?

Kind of. Oh, there it is!

You found it?

Nothing gets past you, does it?

I try. What’s wrong now?

It doesn’t seem to want to respond.

When was the last time it responded?

Oh, it’s been quite a while.

Want me to try something?

Like what?

You’ll see. Just lie back.

Okay . . .

I’m not going to hurt you!

That’s what she said.

What?

A joke. Just a joke.

Let me see . . . oh!

Oh? Was that surprise oh, disappointment oh, or both?

Shhh. There, how is that?

You did something?

Okay, what about now?

That was something more?

Sheesh! What about NOW?

You said you wouldn’t hurt me?

I’m NOT hurting you!

Yeah, but you’re scaring the hell out of me!

Anything?

No. Nothing.

You’re sure?

It’s hard to lie about something like that. No pun intended.

Well, it’s not the end of the world.

To you it’s not the end of the world.

Honestly, it is not the end of the world.

(Silence)

I told you this was a bad idea.

It’s not a bad idea.

(Silence)

You’re disappointed.

I’m not.

Oh?

Maybe a little. My expectations at this age are not exactly reach-to-the-sky calibre, if you know what I mean.

I do. But, you know what?

What?

We could do something else?

What something else?

(Pause)

We could just lie here and hold each other?

(Silence)

Yeah. I suppose we could. That would be nice.

Okay. How’s that?

That is nice. Very nice, thank you.

You’re welcome.

(Silence)

One thing.

Yeah?

Please don’t die on me during the night. It would be some scene if one of the orderlies were to come in tomorrow morning and find you dead.

Yeah. That would be a scene. Okay, I’ll try not to die.

Thanks.

(Silence)

Goodnight.

(Pause)

Goodnight.

 

Copyright © by Lawrence S. Marsden, 7 May, 2014
2 Responses to “Pillow Talk: the reprise”

  1. Andrea June 23, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

    While waiting for eggs to cool to make devil’d eggs I came upon this . Couldn’t stop laughing – of course I am not guy, talented!

    • Sandi August 13, 2016 at 7:59 pm #

      I know Andrea….made me laugh too.

Leave a Reply

