Drama project: The Stand

10 Mar

image

The year 2014 marks the passage of 150 years since 1864. This would prove to be part of the final unraveling of Confederate resources and resolve against the Union army.

French author Guy de Maupassant wrote a compelling short story, Boule de Suif, which literally launched him as a great writer.

I have taken the liberty to reset this work in Savannah, Georgia in late December, 1864. Union General Tecumseh Sherman has sacked and burned Atlanta, and is making his way east toward the harbor town. I am adapting it for the stage.

If you have an interest to read and comment on this undertaking as it progresses, visit my About page where you will find my email address, and let me know.

Theater background and ability to critique is what I am looking for.

2 Responses to “Drama project: The Stand”

  1. poetreecreations March 11, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

    In 1980 – 1998 I was a member of the ACWS – American civil war society
    Confederate 2nd South Carolina
    Regards Thomas sIMS

    • skipmars March 11, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

      I am heavily researching documents to give me both fact and feel for that December. What do you know about the roadway systems and routes, say, between Savannah and Charleston?

Leave a Reply

