Sense

1 Sep

I sense there is no sense these days,
or what there is, is nonsense —

So I strike and light my incense,
and lay back my head as the pungent scent
slowly spirals up and out;

And I drift back through centuries when
better sense perhaps prevailed
though knowing since the veil of time
no purer reason, nor better rhyme
has ever reigned;
Return to my crass sense again:
There is no sense these days.

One Response to “Sense”

  1. emmylgant September 15, 2013 at 5:17 am #

    This nonsense makes perfect sense. Smiling.

Leave a Reply

