Chick-fil-A: Or, Just Why Did That Chicken Cross the Road?

3 Aug

Chick-fil-A: Or, Just Why Did That Chicken Cross the Road?
by L. Stewart Marsden

I don’t pretend to have an answer to the controversy over Chick-fil-A’s president, Dan Cathy, and his statements regarding same-sex marriage. Initially I wasn’t sure whether or not the heated headlines reflected him correctly, and were inferring far more. But, after reading a few articles, no — pretty much accurate.

The issue for me is what I believe and my rights to express those beliefs.

My dad and I once had a discussion about burning the American flag in protest. Surprisingly, we were on opposite sides of the issue. Dad, who had earned his law degree at George Washington University after the war, held that while he might not agree with the expression and the sentiment, he would ultimately uphold a person’s right to burn the flag in protest. First Amendment. Me? I was more like the Queen of Hearts: “Off with their heads!”

You may not agree with me, nor I with you, but we each should agree to our right to express those sentiments.

I think that’s a big pill to swallow.

And by expression, I mean written, verbally, or through peaceful demonstration.

I believe in Dan Cathy’s view on marriage. I suppose it’s what I do with that belief that can land me in a hotbed of controversy, or in an intelligent exchange of beliefs. I prefer the latter. My belief, expressed or not, still puts me in uncomfortable situations.

For example, my wife’s cousin is married, and the two women recently became parents through artificial insemination. I wonder about a host of questions regarding not only the couple, but their child. Do I think they are incapable of raising a child? No. How should I behave towards them and their child? With animosity?

In North Carolina, the state recently voted on Amendment One — regarding same-sex marriage. Uncomfortably, I voted against the amendment, because I felt that a host of legal expectations were going to be denied same-sex couples.

Again, I do not believe that the Bible supports same-sex couples.

So, here was a quandary that put me at odds with the majority of Christians in my community. Even with Billy Graham!

WWJD? Well, I’m not really sure. I think He would deal with the human issues, not the political. The woman at the well was clearly in violation of marriage by having many husbands, and by sleeping with someone who was not her husband. Yet, his approach was to offer her living water. No, not bottled in a plastic bottle.

His final instructions? Go and sin no more.

Perhaps we should each take that instruction to heart for ourselves, regardless of our deeply-rooted beliefs or positions.

This is a hard thing, wouldn’t you agree?

I’m sixty-two, and one year older at the end of this November. As I grow older, I realize just how much I don’t know. It’s massive. Colossal. Gargantuan. In the movie “Rudy” a priest who counsels the main character after a set-back, has this to offer in response to the question why God does what He does:

“There are two things I know. One, there is a God. Two, I’m not Him.”

So, I agree with Mr. Cathy’s right to express his beliefs. And, I support your right to either agree or disagree with his position, including not eating those delicious chicken fillet sandwiches.

Bon, or Non Appetite!

6 Responses to “Chick-fil-A: Or, Just Why Did That Chicken Cross the Road?”

  1. Catherine Dexter August 3, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    I have no idea who any of these people are, therefore, for once I can’t make comment.. shame.

    • skipmars August 3, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      As I emailed you, it is a unique media mangle here in the United States.

  2. boomiebol August 3, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    I read this post and if there was a love button, i would click on it…I think a lot of people are missing the point. Chcik Fil A has a right to believe what they believe…so do those who oppose them…

    Sir, i love how and what you wrote here…I have questions myself these days…more than i have ever had and i question so many things…but I know there is a God and he not me, has all the answers…

    I like how you used the woman at the well…Jesus didn’t condemn her or hate her…he talked with her for a while….then said “Go and sin no more”

    A friend told me about a same sex couple how adopted a child from an impoverished nation…she turned her nose and didn’t like it…i said “well, i am just happy the child now has a home and a family to love her”…it is the way lesser of two “evils”…i say evil for lack of no other word…

    We have the right to believe what we believe…i don’t think anyone should be so hard on Chick Fil A or think of them as evil…just as Chick Fil A should not…

    The mesaage of Christ is love…and i think in any case that is what Jesus would do…Love.

    Sharing this post on twitter and facebook…

    • skipmars August 3, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      Thank you. I agree. And that’s not the easiest thing to do, is it?

  3. alhoffer August 4, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    Took a few moments to enjoy poetry with titles that caught my eye – and loved them all – then arrived at this point and wholeheartedly agree. How sad that so many Christians are presenting an unloving front – however unwittingly – and how terrible is the knee-jerk reaction to ALL Christians in response to these! The idea of hating the sin but loving the sinner is anathema to those who do not believe that sin exists – except in the minds of those they believe to be ignorant Bible thumpers. On the other hand, did we expect that the mocking of Christian ideas and beliefs would end at the Cross?

    Looking forward to reading more in the days to come!

    Ava

    • skipmars August 4, 2012 at 9:36 am #

      For me it’s like being dropped down into a dog fight — teeth gnashing, saliva being flung, growls and barking from both sides. Gosh — like Congress!

Leave a Reply

