Communion

6 Apr

Communion
by L. Stewart Marsden

Good Friday to you.
And you.
I don’t think I can do this.
I thought the same thing.
No, I really don’t think I can do this!
Come. This is my body, broken for you.
My body is broken! My body hurts and I can find no balm!
This is my body. This is your balm.
But it hurts!
Your hurt is my body. Come.
I don’t think I can.
I thought the same thing. Come.
I don’t think I can.
This is my blood.
They take my blood. They take it and take it and take it!
My blood is your blood. Come. Do this.
I don’t think I can!
I thought the same thing. Do this. In remembrance.
My body hurts and I can find no balm in remembrance.
Balm in remembrance.
They take my blood and I give my blood in remembrance.
In remembrance.
In remembrance you gave.
In remembrance you take. In remembrance you eat. In remembrance you drink.
In remembrance. Good Friday to you.
And to you.
I don’t think I can do this.
I thought the same thing. Still, come.
I come.
Good Friday to you.
And to you.

Day 6 of the National Poetry Month challenge to write a poem a day for 30 days.

Leave a Reply

